• Project100
  • Posts
  • 4 Unexpected Benefits of Getting in Shape

4 Unexpected Benefits of Getting in Shape

The Surprising Perks of Fitness Nobody Talks About (#3 Shocked Me)

Happy Monday!

Before we get started - a quick announcement:

Going forward, I'll be shifting the frequency of these newsletters from bi-weekly to a weekly schedule, sent out every Monday.

Why the change? A few reasons:

  1. Quality over quantity: Reducing frequency allows me to focus on delivering higher quality, insightful content each week.

  2. Balance: Shifting to a weekly schedule allows me to better manage my time, ensuring I can dedicate sufficient attention to both delivering valuable content and maintaining my personal health and productivity in my professional career.

  3. Avoiding burnout: Maintaining consistency without compromising on content quality is key, ensuring you receive the best from me every time.

Quote of the Day

"It is health that is real wealth and not pieces of gold and silver."

Mahatma Gandhi

True prosperity resides in nurturing a balanced physical, mental, and emotional well-being. While wealth offers comfort and security, it alone cannot ensure happiness or contentment if one's health is neglected.

Alright, let’s get started:

4 Unexpected Benefits of Getting in Shape

When you start working on something hard and life-changing, you can't help but fantasize about all the amazing changes that'll come. When I first focused on losing weight, my mind went wild imagining what life would be like after losing 100lbs.

  1. "I'll be treated so differently"

  2. "My confidence will skyrocket and I'll become this super outgoing person"

  3. "I'll have so much more energy and I'll never be as tired"

  4. "All the girls will want me"

Of course, this daydreaming was quickly followed by a Google search, revealing all the medical and health perks of getting healthier. You know, the usual suspects: improved heart health, lower cancer risk, better sleep, less physical pain, and so on.

While these are all important, today I want to chat about the unknown benefits. When I eventually lost the weight and looked back, sure, I experienced most of what Google promised and what I'd dreamed up (except #4 😞 still working on that one).

But I also discovered a treasure trove of new benefits I never saw coming. These are the benefits a simple Google search can't tell you about. The ones only those who've made drastic changes truly understand and experience.

1. Newfound Joy in Clothes Shopping

Oh man, I can't even begin to express how much I used to absolutely despise shopping for clothes. Why? Because it was hardly even shopping. When you're as big as I was, "shopping" is more like a sad pilgrimage to the back of the store where they kept the 4X+ clothes on a lonely rack by the bathroom. You know, the stuff no one was buying.

My "options" were basically a bunch of massive shirts with cats floating in a galaxy or SpongeBob dressed up as some sort of mob boss. You think I'm joking? Nope. These were literally the shirts I'm talking about (and owned!):

Once the weight was gone, suddenly shopping became a joy. I could choose clothes from anywhere in the store, not just the lonely rack in the back. I can wear styles I never thought I'd be able to pull off before. No longer do I see an outfit on social media and think to myself, "Yeah, I'm too big to wear any of this."

It's unlocked a whole new level of confidence in me because I can now confidently dress the way I want. I promise you, you'd never understand how amazing it is to have the option to dress however you'd like until you've been in a position where what you can wear and how you express yourself is limited to only what fits you.

2. The Surprising Ease of Everyday Movements

I used to absolutely dread the simplest of movements. Honestly, any form of movement was exhausting. Growing up, my high school was on a hillside, riddled with stairs. I dreaded going to school purely because I had to climb a set of stairs to get to class. Mind you, we’re talking about sets of 7-10 steps—nothing too crazy. Yet, to me, these felt like mountains every single day.

I was constantly sweating from just a simple 3-minute walk to class. Taking off my backpack was so embarrassing because of the sweat and the backpack mark it left on my back. Eventually, I started carrying my backpack in my hand. Unfortunately, the amount of sweat forced me to keep deodorant on me at all times to constantly fight off any smell.

Tying my shoes was so exhausting and embarrassing that I began keeping them untied, labeling it as a “fashion statement” because I’d rather risk tripping than go through the pain of tying them.

Laying down in bed, something most people wouldn’t think twice about, was a massive chore since my back was always in so much pain. I had to mentally prepare myself before throwing myself into bed and wincing in pain for a couple of minutes. The same was true about getting up out of bed the next morning. The list goes on and on.

Once I lost the weight, these movements that were meant to be simple yet drained every bit of energy I had finally started to feel... well, simple. You never understand how appreciative you are of your body for doing the most mundane daily tasks until you actually can’t do them anymore. Suddenly, I can wear a backpack again without a backpack-shaped pool of sweat building up on my back. A small flight of stairs becomes an afterthought. I can get in and out of bed without an issue. Again, these are such small things yet so drastically important. It’s something you can truly only understand if you’ve ever been in a position where these small tasks didn’t feel so small.

3. Greater Patience and Mental Fortitude

One of my favorite and most surprising benefits of getting in shape was my very noticeable increase in patience and mental fortitude. When I was out of shape, I vividly remember being constantly angry, agitated, and impatient. Combined with the cruel reality of my day-to-day life, which was riddled with bullying and mean comments about my appearance, this all resulted in a very upset and weak young adult.

Every comment hurt me. I assumed that everything anyone said about me was negative, even if that wasn't the case. I didn't believe any of the few and far between compliments I could get. I resorted to self-sabotage and self-deprecation as a form of coping. I was too impatient to deal with anyone or anything and was constantly expecting immediate satisfaction and return on anything and everything I did.

None of this is a surprise. When you live a life filled with short-term dopamine hits in the form of food and other unhealthy habits, it's no wonder that I lacked any form of patience or grit. Combined with the bullying and self-deprecation, I was weak and brittle.

But putting myself through years of dedication, seclusion, and self-discipline did something amazing. It forged a mental toughness I never knew I had. The weight loss journey became a mental marathon, teaching me that good things take time. I learned to celebrate small victories and keep going when progress seemed slow.

As my body got stronger, so did my mind. The confidence gained from achieving the seemingly impossible spilled over into every aspect of my life. I began to question negative assumptions about myself and see criticism as an opportunity for growth.

This newfound mental strength has been, in many ways, even more life-changing than the physical transformation. It's given me tools to handle stress, pursue long-term goals, and approach relationships with more empathy. The journey to physical health unexpectedly became a journey to mental health as well - one of the most valuable and underrated benefits of getting in shape.

4. Greater Appreciation for Food

You'd think that back then, being as big as I was and eating as much and as often as I did, I would have appreciated food more than I do today. Surprisingly, that's not the case at all. Back then, food was purely a source of satisfaction and a way to fulfill cravings. It made me feel good about myself when the rest of the day I was physically and mentally in pain. It gave me short-lived happiness and was fueled mostly by emotional eating. I didn't actually appreciate the food for what it was.

Now, after losing weight and adopting healthier habits, I've developed a much deeper appreciation for food. I savor each bite, understanding the nutritional value and the effort that goes into preparing a meal. I've learned to enjoy a wider variety of foods, especially fruits and vegetables that I previously ignored.

Meals have become more than just fuel or emotional comfort - they're an experience to be enjoyed. I pay attention to flavors, textures, and combinations in a way I never did before. Cooking has become a rewarding hobby, not just a means to satisfy hunger.

Most importantly, I've developed a healthier relationship with food. I no longer use it as an emotional crutch or eat mindlessly. Instead, I see food as nourishment for my body and a source of pleasure to be enjoyed in moderation.

When I do have a cheat meal or eat out, which happens much less frequently, I appreciate it so much more. These occasions have become special events that I really enjoy. I get to enjoy and relish each opportunity to break my diet and indulge in fried foods, sweets, or whatever treat I'm craving. This new approach has made these indulgences far more satisfying than when I was constantly consuming them. It's like the old saying goes - absence really does make the heart grow fonder.

To conclude: Embarking on a journey of significant change often brings more rewards than we initially imagine. As I reflect on the unexpected benefits of my weight loss journey, I'm reminded that transformation extends far beyond physical appearance.

  • Once daunting tasks become effortless.

  • From limitations to confidence.

  • Resilience forged through dedication.

  • New found appreciation for food - from consumption to mindful enjoyment.

You've got this - I believe in you! 💪

Thank you for joining me on today's newsletter.

If you found value from it and learned something that can help propel you forward on your own journey, please:

  1. Share this with friends and family!

  2. Chat with me on X!

Reply

or to participate.